If you are wondering what to read next, here are my picks

If you are wondering what to read next, here is a list of what I’ve been reading (and loving) the last couple months…

Educated by Tara Westover

I read this book in five days (primarily by ignoring my husband and children).  Tara’s struggle to survive her family, leave them, and stay loyal to them was absorbing.  I really loved how she didn’t seem to flatten anyone, but left tensions of violence and tenderness, compliance and strength within the same person hang.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Death by Living by N.D. Wilson

I mentioned reading this book in my Instagram.  I’ve read it every couple of years since my first read of it.  The writing style take some getting used to, but once you are over it, it is one of the best book you’ll read this year.  My favorite quote, “Living means decisions. It means writing your story in the Story. It means being terrible at it. It means failing and knowing that, somehow, all of our messes will still contribute, that the creative God has merely given Himself a greater challenge- drawing glory from our clumsy botching of the past.”  Can I get a witness?

 

 

 

 

 

None Like Him by Jen Wilkin

This is a book about the attributes of God.  Yes, I know Pink and Tozer already wrote two unbelievably thorough and breathtaking books on the same subject, but Jen holds her own with them. She comes at it with completely different take- God is omniscient (for example) and we are not, so stop acting like we can or should be.  I do a terrible job of explaining it, she does an exquisite job of it.  Read it, read it, read it.  Even if you are a guy and it has a girlie cover.

 

 

 

 

 

Secret Lives of Colour by Kassia St. Clair

I loved this!  The author takes us for a spin through the spectrum and gives us a brief history of the colours we encounter.  Packed with random facts, stories, and insights, it is a delightful read.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Refresh by Shona & David Murray

This is a book for the drowning (and the ones helping the drowning).  Life is full of demands and Shona & David give such an wise, realistic, and biblically based look at how to cope.  I found it helpful on so many fronts.  Even just to know it’s ok to not be okay and how to cling to our Hope in the struggle.

Author: scurryhome

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.